Regional Management College

Madras University

The University of Madras was formally established on September 5, 1857 and undertook as its motto ‘Doctrina Vim Promovet Insitam’ (Learning promotes [one’s] innate talent). Robert Chisholm was commissioned in 1861 to build the University’s first building, now a magnificent renovated heritage monument.

The first Vice-Chancellor of the University was Sir Christopher Rawlinson, also the Chief Justice of Madras. This practice of part time Vice-Chancellors (majority from the High Court bench) was to continue until 1923. The University at its inception comprised of four faculties – Arts, Law, Medicine and Engineering, and examined candidates for degrees in all these disciplines. However, consequent amendments to the Madras University Act, the Law, Medical and Engineering Colleges earlier affiliated to this University have been since shifted to the newly created Dr. Ambedkar Law University, Dr. MGR Medical University and the Anna University respectively.

The University of Madras was the first to introduce autonomous colleges within the University system in 1978-79. Since then, 27 out of the 159 affiliated institutions have become autonomous.

The opening of the golden page in the history of the University of Madras with the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) accrediting it at the ‘Five Star’ level took place in 2000. That year also the University Grants Commission (UGC) has conferred the special status of ‘University with Potential for Excellence’. Presently NAAC has reaccredited the University of Madras with ‘A’ Grade.

The innovations introduced in the last decade have been many. At present there are 70 teaching and research departments in the University, grouped under 17 Schools. Within the Chennai Metropolitan area the University is now spread over six campuses such as (1) The Chepauk Main Campus, (2) The Guindy Campus, (3) The Marina Campus, (4) The Taramani Campus, (5) The Chetpet Campus
(The Madras University Union), (6) The Maduravoyal Campus (Field Laboratory). The University offers several Masters and Research Programmes.


The Institute of Correspondence Education (ICE), as in Madras University Act 1923 Vol I (2001 Edition) Chapter VIII, Statue 2. III, now called the Institute of Distance Education (IDE) was established in 1981. Having completed 31 years, the Institute of Distance Education today is a mega Institute with a student enrolment of more than 3.0 lakhs. The objective of the Institute of Distance Education (IDE) is to enable learners to achieve educational, career and personal goals.

The Institute of Distance Education at present offers 102 Degree Programmes :

Undergraduate 27, Postgraduate 20, Professional 17, Diploma 25, and Certificate 13. Professional and job oriented programs are now offered in collaboration with the industry.

Admissions are made throughout the year in the Academic Year Stream (June to May) as well as Calendar Year Stream (January to December).

In order to meet this growing demand, the number of Spot Admission Centres in Tamil Nadu, Union Territories, and Study Centres in India and Abroad have been considerably increased. Efforts are taken to promote borderless education at the global level.

Courses from this university